Edit Module Edit Module

May 2015

Edit ModuleShow Tags

In This Issue

Top News Links: Friday, May 29

Top News Links: Thursday, May 28

Flashback: Crisis, Recovery, Acquisition

Flashback: Crisis, Recovery, Acquisition

Grits for The Grand and Everybody Else

Grits for The Grand and Everybody Else

The Gulf Coast’s premier Grand Hotel won’t serve any other than Ken Jansen’s grits. It’s the slow grinding. And you can get some free with a tire change.

Alabama’s Defense Clusters

Alabama’s Defense Clusters

Your guide to Alabama’s $17 billion defense industry — the major military bases and the contractors that employ more than 117,000 Alabama workers.

Top News Links: Wednesday, May 27

Top News Links: Tuesday, May 26

Top News Links: Friday, May 22

Top News Links: Thursday, May 21

Alabama’s Top Performing Community Banks

Alabama’s Top Performing Community Banks

Profiles of the 10 best performing community banks in the state, ranked by pre-tax return on assets. Here’s how the hometown pros customize financial service.

Career Notes, May 2015

Career Notes, May 2015

Who's moving up?

Top News Links: Wednesday, May 20

From Google to One-Gig Opelika

From Google to One-Gig Opelika

A former Silicon Valley entrepreneur marries into Alabama, incubates more than 20 new enterprises, and cruises a quartet of his own startups on Opelika’s one-gigabyte fiber.

Top News Links: Tuesday, May 19

Top News Links: Friday, May 15

Top News Links: Thursday, May 14

Craft Beer Rolls Over the State Line

Craft Beer Rolls Over the State Line

After a six-year boom, Alabama’s craft beer industry has room to grow, with 20 to 30 percent of market share still up for grabs. And the trucks are rolling across the borders.

Top News Links: Wednesday, May 13

Company Kudos, May 2015

Company Kudos, May 2015

A month of achievements in Alabama business

Top News Links: Tuesday, May 12

Fed Radar Detects Uncertainty

Fed Radar Detects Uncertainty

Regions economist Richard Moody assays global prospects and the Fed’s recent pronouncements.

Top News Links: Monday, May 11

Top News Links: Friday, May 8

Top News Links: Thursday, May 7

Economic Engines

Economic Engines

Spotlight on Madison County

Spotlight on Madison County

Spotlight on Madison County

Top News Links: Wednesday, May 6

A Big Piece of Wood Work

A Big Piece of Wood Work

Making a wooden pallet is not a high-end craft. But building and running the biggest pallet, dunnage and custom crate business in Alabama and the Mississippi/Florida Gulf Coast is a feat that really stacks up.

Top News Links: Tuesday, May 5

Movers & Shapers, May 2015

Movers & Shapers, May 2015

Spotlight on Madison County

Pitching in Real Estate’s Big Show

Pitching in Real Estate’s Big Show

Craig King calls sharp and fast at the top of the real estate big leagues — leading a century-old family auction business to $2 billion in sales over 30 years.

Top News Links: Monday, May 4

Top News Links: Friday, May 1

7,000 Per Year Missile Factory Ramps Up

7,000 Per Year Missile Factory Ramps Up

Home of the Braves Coming Along

Home of the Braves Coming Along

Obama Goes after Payday Loans

Obama Goes after Payday Loans