Edit Module Edit Module

May 2014

Edit ModuleShow Tags

In This Issue

Top News Links: Friday, May 30

Flashback: Huntsville's Anti-Union Fervor Burns

Flashback: Huntsville's Anti-Union Fervor Burns

Top News Links: Thursday, May 29

Twitter Jitters

Twitter Jitters

Do it right and you’re a genius. Do it wrong and your company may have to say it’s sorry 180 million times. But it’s the only cold call that works well in this century.

Top News Links: Wednesday, May 28

Good Food, Great Medicine

Good Food, Great Medicine

Jen Neese’s startup company, The Delicious Dietitian, takes over after the doctor orders, “Lose weight, eat better.” And fills the prescription with personal, tasty attention.

Top News Links: Tuesday, May 27

Solid Growth Throughout the Downturn

Solid Growth Throughout the Downturn

After rolling up customers and assets during the worst of the financial crisis, Alabama credit unions navigate further Dodd-Frank implementation with a slight advantage on banks.

Top News Links: Thursday, May 22

Lessons from the Recession

Lessons from the Recession

Six CEOs tell us how they guided their firms around the shoals of recession, emerging even stronger on the other side.

Career Notes, May 2014

Career Notes, May 2014

Who's moving up?

Top News Links: Wednesday, May 21

Trading Army Boots for Wing Tips

Trading Army Boots for Wing Tips

After retiring from a 34-year career in Army Special Forces, Joe Riley worked his way to manager of his local credit union, Federal Employees Credit Union. He hopes to deploy its nonprofit services to state employees as well.

Top News Links: Tuesday, May 20

Landmark Dining

Landmark Dining

Five Alabama restaurants where you can offer business clients a great impression of your home place.

Top News Links: Monday, May 19

Top News Links: Friday, May 16

Top News Links: Thursday, May 15

Revivals, Innovations & Dream Machines

Revivals, Innovations & Dream Machines

A surprising mix of enterprises thrives on the state’s network of small business support centers — from motorcycles to good eats to high tech.

Company Kudos, May 2014

Company Kudos, May 2014

Top News Links: Wednesday, May 14

Sustain Your Startup

Sustain Your Startup

Successful startups — say Alabama’s small business experts — begin with concise planning and investment in yourself.

Top News Links: Tuesday, May 13

Big Game Hunting

Big Game Hunting

Huntsville was primed for Remington Outdoor Co. site prospectors when they came calling.

Top News Links: Monday, May 12

Spotlight on Baldwin County

Spotlight on Baldwin County

Top News Links: Friday, May 9

Harassment Trend Line Improving

Publishing While You Wait...for an Espresso

Publishing While You Wait...for an Espresso

Top News Links: Thursday, May 8

Growing Urban Huntsville

Growing Urban Huntsville

Charlie Sealy stakes $30 million on his already tested hunch that downtown Huntsville is growing up.

Top News Links: Wednesday, May 7

One Very Good Fish Dealer

One Very Good Fish Dealer

Southern Fish & Oyster Co., perched along the Mobile River, exemplifies the best of old school food industry. Fishermen give them first shot at their best catch, and patrons line up at the docks pulling ice chests — led by the best chefs.

Movers & Shapers, May 2014

Movers & Shapers, May 2014

Spotlight on Baldwin County

Alabama Largest Credit Unions

Ranked by total assets

Alabama Insider Trades, May 2014

Stock transactions by insiders of Alabama's public companies

Top News Links: Tuesday, May 6

A Few Laws, Just One Cooperator

A Few Laws, Just One Cooperator

Top News Links: Monday, May 5

Bucket List Standout up in Flames

Bucket List Standout up in Flames

Top News Links: Friday, May 2

Surf & Suds Branding Match

Top News Links: Thursday, May 1

Dolphins, Sea Turtles Testify to Oil Spill Toxicity

Dolphins, Sea Turtles Testify to Oil Spill Toxicity

Edit Module