Edit Module Edit Module
Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print Pin It Feed Feed

Career Notes, June 2018

Who's moving up?

John Turner Jr.



Mark Nugent has joined BBB Industries Inc., of Daphne, as senior director of business development.


John Turner Jr. has been promoted to chief executive officer of Regions Bank and Regions Financial Corp. and is a member of its board of directors effective July 2. Turner succeeds Chairman and CEO Grayson Hall, who will serve as executive chairman through the end of 2018.

SmartBank, of Tuscaloosa, has named its local board of directors. Members are Brock Corder, Gina Simpson, John Murdock, Jon Farmer, Mike Reilly, Terry Saban and William Pruett. In addition, SmartFinancial Inc., parent company of SmartBank, has appointed Steve Tucker and Beau Wicks to its board of directors.

C. Mitchell Waycaster has been named chief executive officer of Renasant Bank, and will retain his title of president for Renasant Corp. Former CEO E. Robinson McGraw has been named executive chairman.


Hafiz Chandiwala has been named executive vice president and chief administrative officer of Coca-Cola Bottling Company United. He also serves as chief financial officer. In addition, Gianetta Jones has been promoted to vice president of human resources and been elected an officer of the company.


HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology has awarded the 2018 HudsonAlpha Life Sciences Prize to Charles Rotimi for his genomics research in health disparities. Rotimi is founding director of the Center for Research on Genomics and Global Health at the National Human Genome Research Institute of the National Institutes of Health.

Credit Unions

The League of Southeastern Credit Unions & Affiliates presented Alabama Rep. Martha Roby with the 2017 Federal Lawmaker of the Year recognition. Roby was one of two lawmakers honored by the league.


Three Alabama dentists have been recognized by Kleer in their 2018 Most Influential Dentists in America Program. They are: Dr. Alex White of Smile Center Inc. in Mobile, Dr. Dale Entrekin of Montgomery and Dr. Alan Yount of Auburn.

Dennis Smith



Abraham Mitchell, owner of the Mitchell Brothers company, has been named the Beta Gamma Sigma 2018 Business Achievement Award winner at the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business International Conference. He was nominated for the award by the University of South Alabama Mitchell College of Business.

Auburn University Management Professor Dave Ketchen has been awarded the Southeastern Conference’s 2018 Faculty Achievement Award for Auburn.

Dennis Smith, director of testing and assessment at Calhoun Community College, has been named the state of Alabama’s ACT Workforce Champion.

Anthony Hood, associate professor in the University of Alabama at Birmingham Collat School of Business, received Alabama Power’s 2018 Power of Leadership award.

Auburn University at Montgomery College of Nursing and Health Sciences Dean and Barbara S. Witt Professor Jean D'Meza Leuner has been elected secretary of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing board of directors. 

Eric Kirkman has been named the new director of the Kilby Laboratory School at the University of North Alabama. He replaces Chris James, who has been named associate professor in the UNA College of Education. In addition, Brian Dempsey, Carrie Barske and Ansley Quiros have received a National Park Service grant for their Civil Rights Struggle in the Shoals project.

The University of South Alabama Beta Gamma Sigma chapter has presented the 2018 Business Achievement Award to Abraham Mitchell, owner of the Mitchell Brothers company.

Wallace State Community College Success Coach Coordinator Christine Wiggins and English instructor Karen Morris have received the 2018 NISOD Excellence Awards. NISOD is a professional development organization for community college faculty, staff and administrators affiliated with the University of Texas at Austin.

Emergency Mitigation

Chad Yeilding has opened Restoration 1, a restoration franchise handling emergency mitigations, restoration and reconstruction services, in Hoover.

Josh Everett



Josh Everett has joined Barge Design Solutions Inc. as manager of geomatics in the company’s Land Resources Business Unit, where he will manage surveying field teams in Birmingham and Huntsville. In addition, Kevin Kennoy has joined the company as client services regional director based in Huntsville.


Randy Hale and Richard Guthrie were honored with Alabama Farm-City Awards from the Alabama Farmers Federation. Hale was presented the Volunteer of the Year Award and Guthrie with the Service Award.


Eric Ralph has joined Highland Associates, of Birmingham, as managing director. He will serve the firm’s institutional client base.


Thomas Desnoyers has joined Urgent Team in Muscle Shoals.


Home2 Suites by Hilton Mobile I-65 Government Street, owned and operated by Heritage Hospitality, has named Teresa Floyd its new general manager.

Industrial Distributor

Will Green has been promoted to Mitsubishi Electric product specialist in Alabama for Air Hydro Power.

Ellen Holladay, senior vice president, chief information officer and operational excellence officer with Motion Industries, has been presented the 2018 Bearings Specialists Association Lifetime Achievement Award.

Tim Vines



Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Alabama has named Tim Vines as president and chief executive officer of the company. He assumed the office following the retirement of Terry Kellogg, who had served BCBS for 36 years.


Freddie Stokes has joined Starnes Davis Florie LLP’s Mobile office.

Liz Huntley, of counsel for Lightfoot, Franklin & White LLC, has received the Citizen of the Year award for 2018 from the Women’s Committee of 100 for Birmingham.

Steven Strother Jr. has joined the Real Estate Practice Group of Maynard Cooper & Gale as an associate. In addition, the firm has opened a Washington, D.C. branch led by Daniel Wilson, managing shareholder of the firm’s Huntsville office.

Christine Segarra has joined Burr & Forman LLP in its Mobile office. In addition, the firm has named Josh Ehrenfeld, Joe Letzer, Ty Roofner and Ricardo Woods to its executive committee.

Baker Donelson has elected Ashley Hugunine as a shareholder in the firm's Birmingham office. 

Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP Partners E. Mabry Rogers and David Owen have been named 2018 BTI Client Service All-Stars.

Butler Snow attorney James Barton Jr. was recognized by Who's Who Legal for 2018.


Kathryn Dempsey has joined Medspa at the Park, a full-service medical spa. 


Mark Richenderfer has joined the Birmingham Business Alliance as vice president of investor relations. He has more than 20 years of experience across several industries.

The Mobile Area Chamber of Commerce has promoted David Rodgers to vice president of economic development. Rodgers fills the position left open by Troy Wayman when he went to work for One Acadiana in Lafayette, Louisiana.

Real Estate

Calvin Perryman, of Great Southern Land Co. Inc. in Camden, has been recognized as part of the APEX 2017 Producers Club by the Realtors Land Institute.


Dan Simpson has been named CEO of Taziki’s Mediterranean Café. Simpson previously served as chief innovation officer.


John Neville has been promoted to senior vice president of sales for Adtran Inc.

Add your comment:
Edit Module
Edit Module
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Edit Module