Edit Module Edit Module
Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print Pin It

Career Notes, June 2017

Who's moving up?

Laurent Blattner



Airbus has appointed Laurent Blattner as president of Airbus DS Military Aircraft Inc. in Mobile.


IberiaBank has named Jennifer Brittian mortgage market manager for the Birmingham area.

United Bank has promoted the following officers: Amber Stokes, Carolyn Crane, Denise Fuqua, John Eringman and Wes Young.


Nathaniel Drummond has been appointed senior vice president of Drummond Co. Inc.

Credit Union

Kevin Morris has been promoted to senior vice president and chief lending officer at America’s First Federal Credit Union.


James Purcell has been appointed executive director of the Alabama Commission on Higher Education.

Auburn University Professor James Barth has received the Southeastern Conferences’ Auburn Faculty Achievement Award for 2017. Barth serves as the Lowder Eminent Scholar in Finance in the Raymond J. Harbert College of Business.

Murphy High School Alumni Association recently inducted its 2017 Hall of Fame class. They are: B. Wayne Dean, Vickie Powers Matranga, T.J. Potts, Phil Savage Jr., W. Barnes Tatum, Desmond Toler and Maryln Schwartz.

Vicki Hawsey Karolewics, president of Wallace State Community College, has been elected to the American Association of Community Colleges Board of Directors.

Ross Alexander has been named vice president for academic affairs and provost at the University of North Alabama. Also, Amber Paulk, associate professor of sociology and family studies, won the Outstanding Advising Award - Faculty Academic Advising by the National Academic Advising Association. Also, Trudy Abel and Natalia Kouraeva have joined the College of Education and Human Sciences as professors in special education.


Rex Bush has been named transportation business unit leader for TTL of Tuscaloosa.


Chris Blankenship, of Mobile, was appointed deputy commissioner of the Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources. He replaces Curtis Jones, who retired in March.


Pam Garrett of Residence Inn Dothan has been presented the General Manager of the Year Award by LBA Hospitality.

Larry Bowser, general manager of the Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa in Florence, was awarded the Franchise General Manager of the Year for the Eastern Region of Marriott International.

Kenneth Zahn Jr. has been appointed director of sales at Pursell Farms in Sylacauga. In addition, Kameron Belich was named banquet manager.


Charles Stewart, a partner in Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP’s Montgomery office, has been appointed to the Corporate Roundtable Steering Committee of the Defense Research Institute.

Kasee Sparks Heisterhagen, with Burr & Forman’s Mobile office, has been appointed secretary of the Maritime Law Association of the United States Young Lawyers Committee.

Swift, Currie, McGhee & Hiers LLP has added Brandon Clapp to the firm’s Birmingham office. In addition, Birmingham-based Partner F. Lane Finch Jr. was appointed vice chair of the Defense Research Institute’s American Law Institute Insurance Task Force.


USA Mitchell Cancer Institute researcher Gary Piazza has been inducted as a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors.


Tilson President and CEO Joshua Broder has been named a Top Young Professional by Engineering News-Record.


Southeastern Freight Lines has promoted Mark Coggin to service center manager in Montgomery. 

Add your comment:
Edit Module
Edit Module
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Edit Module