Edit Module Edit Module

July 2014

Edit ModuleShow Tags

In This Issue

Alabama's Largest Private Companies

Ranked by 2013 Sales

De Nouveau in the Wealth Niche

De Nouveau in the Wealth Niche

As banking cratered in 2008, the founders of Oakworth Capital convinced investors it wasn’t crazy to start a new bank, and to bank a new way — catering to commerce and wealth with concierge attention and high tech efficiency.

Top News Links: Thursday, July 24

Top News Links: Thursday, July 31

Flashback: Banking in the Local Wealth Niche

Flashback: Banking in the Local Wealth Niche

Top New Links: Wednesday, July 30

Top News Links: Tuesday, July 29

Top News Links: Monday, July 28

Top News Links: Friday, July 25

Top News Links: Friday, August 1

Birmingham Chases World Games

Birmingham Chases World Games

The Money-Printing Machine

The Money-Printing Machine

What do Alabama’s banking and finance experts think about the Fed’s six-year, $4 trillion-plus money-printing marathon?

Movers & Shapers, July 2014

Movers & Shapers, July 2014

Spotlight on Calhoun and Talladega counties

Top News Links: Wednesday, July 23

Convocation of Auburn Startups

Convocation of Auburn Startups

Fledgling companies in the Auburn Business Incubator range from social media to precision machining to tennis expertise.

Top News Links: Tuesday, July 22

High Tech Seeks High Yield

High Tech Seeks High Yield

Education, innovation and technology collaborate for commerce at Auburn Research Park.

Top News Links: Monday, July 21

Top News Links: Friday, July 18

Wealth Managers Weigh the Market

Wealth Managers Weigh the Market

Heads of the wealth management departments of the state’s largest banks appraise the stock market at mid-year.

Top News Links: Thursday, July 17

The Weld That Came in from the Cold

The Weld That Came in from the Cold

Birmingham’s Applied Ultrasonics uses Soviet-born Cold War technology to strengthen everything from oil rigs to submarines.

Top News Links: Wednesday, July 16

Lockheed Rolls Out Space Fence

Lockheed Rolls Out Space Fence

Top News Links: Tuesday, July 15

Swap Deal Recoils, Stings Regions

Swap Deal Recoils, Stings Regions

Top News Links: Monday, July 14

Top News Links: Friday, July 11

Top News Links: Thursday, July 10

Company Kudos, July 2014

Company Kudos, July 2014

A month of achievements in Alabama business

Front Line in a Trade War with China – Leeds, Alabama

Front Line in a Trade War with China – Leeds, Alabama

An 80-worker manufacturer in Leeds is the last bastion in a U.S. industry’s trade war with China. Relentless determination, not ballistic missiles, will determine the victor. Milton Magnus, mild-mannered maker of coat hangers, has plenty of determination.

Top News Links: Wednesday, July 9

Taking Chicken Carbon Neutral

Taking Chicken Carbon Neutral

A longstanding north Alabama businessman, Davis Lee, cranks up a new business that could also be the alternative fuel solution for the state’s largest agricultural crop.

Top News Links: Tuesday, July 8

ServisFirst: Time Ripe for Stepping Out

ServisFirst: Time Ripe for Stepping Out

Alabama Business Incubators

Alabama Business Incubators

Baby companies need a healthy environment, nurturing and a watchful eye as they take their first steps. Once mature, they pay back the community that helped birth them with payrolls, tax revenue and more.

Top News Links: Monday, July 7

Spotlight on Calhoun and Talladega Counties

Spotlight on Calhoun and Talladega Counties

Alabama Timber’s Sustainability Stockpile

Alabama wood pellet mills are at the threshold of a perfect supply-demand matrix: a growing surplus of Alabama timber and growing overseas demand for a coal alternative.

Top News Links: Thursday, July 3

Big Telecom’s Big Billing Shadow

Big Telecom’s Big Billing Shadow

Top News Links: Wednesday, July 2

Top News Links: Tuesday, July 1

Put Some Rims on that A320

Edit Module