Edit Module Edit Module

July 2013

Edit ModuleShow Tags

In This Issue

Top News Links: Wednesday, July 31

Flashback: America’s Riviera

Flashback: America’s Riviera

Top News Links: Tuesday, July 30

Top News Links: Monday, July 29

Top News Links: Friday, July 26

Top News Links: Thursday, July 25

Best Sellers

Best Sellers

Alabama writers on the art of hard work.

Movers & Shapers, July 2013

Movers & Shapers, July 2013

Spotlight on Houston and Henry Counties

Top News Links: Wednesday, July 24

Wally's Bessemer Alchemy

Wally's Bessemer Alchemy

Wally Evans tempered his arcane Special Shapes Refractory Co. in a recession. Fired by R&D, it flourishes with a growing list of big name customers, whose brands are shaped in glass.

Top News Links: Tuesday, July 23

Taking Charge on the Waterfront

Taking Charge on the Waterfront

Like many waterfront companies, Page & Jones is an old family business — 121 years old — and the work starts on the docks.

Top News Links: Monday, July 22

Missiles, Drones & Hack Attacks

Missiles, Drones & Hack Attacks

You don’t find many private companies engaged in the kind of enterprise in which Dynetics wraps itself. In spite of relentless buyout initiatives, CEO Marc Bendickson says the company is determined to resist and remain employee-owned.

Top News Links: Friday, July 19

Career Notes, July 2013

Career Notes, July 2013

Who's moving up in Alabama business?

Top News Links: Thursday, July 18

Top Gene Scientists

Top Gene Scientists

Meet four of the state’s leading genetics scientists — university-based biomedical researchers who use genetics as the basis for promising new therapies.

Top News Links: Wednesday, July 17

Top News Links: Tuesday, July 16

Turtles Taken off the Alabama Menu

Turtles Taken off the Alabama Menu

Top News Links: Monday, July 15

Dream Fielder

Dream Fielder

There was enough magic for a revival of this outdoor family entertainment classic, but Hollywood has Springville insurance executive Brian Skinner facing a new crisis in the final reel.

Top News Links: Friday, July 12

Tornado Construction Leader

Tornado Construction Leader

Top News Links: Thursday, July 11

Think Money

Think Money

Five great ideas out of Alabama that made big bucks

Top News Links: Wednesday, July 10

Top News Links: Tuesday, July 9

Alabama's Largest Accounting Firms

Vitamin Factory Blows its Horn

Vitamin Factory Blows its Horn

Alabama's Largest Private Companies

Alabama Bank Performances

Top News Links: Monday, July 8

Balloons & Branding Fest

Balloons & Branding Fest

Mobile Firm Sued Again for Human Trafficking

Mobile Firm Sued Again for Human Trafficking

Culture and Recreation

Culture and Recreation

Spotlight on Houston & Henry Counties

Health Care

Health Care

Spotlight on Houston & Henry Counties

Crossword Puzzle, July 2013

Crossword Puzzle, July 2013

Community Development

Community Development

Spotlight on Houston & Henry Counties

Higher Education

Higher Education

Spotlight on Houston & Henry Counties

Economic Engines

Economic Engines

Spotlight on Houston & Henry Counties

Top News Links: Wednesday, July 3

Alabama Company Finishing New Jersey Sandy Cleanup

Spotlight on Houston & Henry Counties

Spotlight on Houston & Henry Counties

Top News Links: Tuesday, July 2

Country Entertainers Hit the Beach — Blue Collar Destinations

Country Entertainers Hit the Beach — Blue Collar Destinations

Juggling Bricks and Apps

Bricks and mortar banking is not exactly dissolving into digital in Alabama. But branch offices are being streamlined, and one of the fastest growing of Alabama banks thinks branches are the “pay phone” of the industry.

Company Kudos, July 2013

Top News Links: Monday, July 1

Refreshment Reformation

A 114-year-old Alabama private company pops the cap on a 21st Century transformation.

First Airbus Supplier Opens Shop

First Airbus Supplier Opens Shop

Edit Module