Edit Module Edit Module

January 2018

Edit ModuleShow Tags

In This Issue

Top News Links: Monday, January 22

Top News Links: Friday, January 19

Top News Links: Thursday, January 18

Investment-Grade Distress

Investment-Grade Distress

Two youths of the Great Recession dove into the frenzy of distressed real estate and made it an investment-grade discipline.

Top News Links: Wednesday, January 17

Top News Links: Tuesday, January 16

Top News Links: Monday, January 15

Ezell's Catfish on the River

Ezell's Catfish on the River

Ezell’s became a restaurant in the 1950s, but its history goes back to riverboats and fish fries on the hunting camp lawn.

Top News Links: Friday, January 12

Re-equipping the Underemployed

Re-equipping the Underemployed

A new Innovate Birmingham initiative helps disciplined workers move from menial to meaningful.

Top News Links: Thursday, January 11

Top News Links: Wednesday, January 10

Diving into City Hall

Diving into City Hall

The new mayor of Birmingham outlines his opening agenda, including a “deep dive into...employee morale.”

Top News Links: Tuesday, January 9

Top News Links: Monday, January 8

Major League Scouts Assay Alabama

Major League Scouts Assay Alabama

Baseball talent will arise anew this summer as Hoover’s Met Complex becomes the landing site for 150 top high school baseball players being scrutinized by Major League Baseball team scouts, coaches and agents.

Top News Links: Friday, January 5

Should You Be Loved or Feared?

Should You Be Loved or Feared?

Is being liked or feared the best strategy for the modern workplace manager?

Top News Links: Thursday, January 4

What's Coming in 2018

What's Coming in 2018

Whatever happens in 2018, we apparently won’t be hearing it from Matt Lauer, Charlie Rose or Bill O’Reilly. The winds of gender politics in the workplace will no doubt continue to blow and might even factor into the the governor’s race, where Kay Ivey will run for re-election to a full term. Specifically, will there be any male politicians with a clean enough record to face her? And will her tacit support of Roy Moore help or hurt her campaign? Also up for election are the offices of lieutenant governor, currently vacant as well as other top state offices and U.S. House of Representatives posts.

Top News Links: Wednesday, January 3

Chicken Law in High Court

Chicken Law in High Court

The latest lawsuit seeks to leap frog over the appellate level and go directly to the Supreme Court.

Top Stories of 2017

Top Stories of 2017

Factories rose, state unemployment hit a historic low and, for better or worse, Alabama made national headlines. Here’s our reckoning of the year’s top business stories.

Top News Links: Tuesday, January 2

Magic Classic Money Queried

Magic Classic Money Queried

MBA students wanting to study a complex business model with lots of moving parts and layers of political intrigue would do well to consider Birmingham’s Magic City Classic.

Edit Module