Edit Module Edit Module

January 2014

Edit ModuleShow Tags

In This Issue

Top News Links: Friday, Jan. 31

Flashback: Zigged When They Should Have Zagged

Flashback: Zigged When They Should Have Zagged

Top News Links: Thursday, Jan. 30

Top News Links: Tuesday, Jan. 28

The Modern Apprentice

The Modern Apprentice

Leading Alabama manufacturers advance their workforce with apprenticeships crafted for advancing times — from modern tool and die to mechatronics.

Top News Links: Monday, Jan. 27

Top News Links: Friday, Jan. 24

Top News Links: Thursday, Jan. 23

Career Notes, January 2014

Career Notes, January 2014

Riding Herd on the Senate

Riding Herd on the Senate

Patrick Harris went from high school to the Xerox room of the Alabama Senate. As CEO of that sometimes august, sometimes raucous body, he manages an office of 100 workers who shepherd, type, underline, certify and publish all the laws of the land. And he likes to ride out at dawn.

Top News Links: Wednesday, Jan. 22

Top News Links: Tuesday, Jan. 21

Stores on Wheels

Stores on Wheels

Annette Nolan expects to be a game changer in the set-in-its-ways, $42 billion vending industry. What she has in mind are retail stores that travel — as far as Moscow.

Top News Links: Monday, Jan. 20

New Head of Working Smarter

New Head of Working Smarter

Terry Waters says workforce development in Alabama is grounded on a two-year college network that puts career advancement in reach of an already hard-working population.

Top News Links: Friday, Jan. 17

Movers & Shapers, January 2014

Movers & Shapers, January 2014

Spotlight on Autauga and Elmore counties

Top News Links: Thursday, Jan. 16

Exit Interviews

Exit Interviews

August and September brought a flurry of resignations of Alabama Republicans who cut short their terms for lobbying or governmental relations jobs in the private or institutional sector. We caught up with them to see what lured them away.

Top News Links: Wednesday, Jan. 15

Great Eats with a Soulful Side

Great Eats with a Soulful Side

Two great Alabama eatery/bars that offer a side of great live music.

Auf Wiedersehen, ThyssenKrupp Moi, Moien, Konnichiwa, Newcomers

Auf Wiedersehen, ThyssenKrupp Moi, Moien, Konnichiwa, Newcomers

Boeing Moves into Redstone Gateway

Boeing Moves into Redstone Gateway

Top News Links: Tuesday, Jan. 14

Top News Links: Monday, Jan. 13

Spotlight on Autauga and Elmore Counties

Spotlight on Autauga and Elmore Counties

Top News Links: Friday, Jan. 10

Top News Links: Thursday, Jan. 9

Company Kudos, January 2014

Company Kudos, January 2014

Fitness Training for the Real World

Fitness Training for the Real World

The decades old training model of the college co-op seems designed for today’s lean and hungry job market. Employers get a semester or more of “interview” time. Students bulk up for the real world.

Energen’s Third Act Gushes

Energen’s Third Act Gushes

In the mid-’90s, Energen Corp. transformed itself from a utility to an oil and gas exploration company. Now it is focusing on the oil side of the production ledger — with surprising strikes both east and west of one of the most prolific oil basins in the country.

Top News Links: Wednesday, Jan. 8

Headlines Review of 2013

Headlines Review of 2013

Watch What You Say about Your Own Business

Watch What You Say about Your Own Business

Watch What You Say about Your Competitors

Watch What You Say about Your Competitors

Top News Links: Tuesday, Jan. 7

Top News Links: Monday, Jan. 6

EADS Retreats from U.S. Military

EADS Retreats from U.S. Military

Going for Boeing

Going for Boeing

Top News Links: Friday, Jan. 3

Up from Bankruptcy

Up from Bankruptcy

Exemplary Family Farm

Exemplary Family Farm

Top News Links: Thursday, Jan. 2

Edit Module