Edit Module Edit Module
Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print Pin It

Career Notes, February 2017

Who's moving up?

Britt Barley



Randy Buckner, director of research and development for Huntsville-based Avion Solutions Inc., has been recognized as Energy Innovator of the Year by the World Energy Engineering Congress. 


Four Star Freightliner has named Kelly Hammon its Employee of the Year. Hammon is the service advisor at the Dothan dealership. 


Robert Dumas, president and CEO of AuburnBank, and Brandon Bishop, international representative of the southern region for the International Union of Operating Engineers, have been reappointed to the board of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta’s Birmingham Branch. 

Britt Barley has joined Sterling Bank/Synovus as commercial banker at the bank’s main branch in Montgomery. 

United Bank has promoted Abby Wiggins and Jane Woods to vice president and Cecilia Harrison and Tonya Lambert to assistant vice president. 


The Chamber of Commerce of West Alabama has named Shanna Ullmann its vice president for community engagement. 


Mazy Holiday, founder and president of Birmingham-based WhatBox Inc., has won gold in the 2016 Best in Biz Awards for the Best New Product of the Year - Consumer category; bronze in two categories in the 2016 Stevie Awards for Women in Business, and Birmingham Business Journal’s 2016 Top CEO Award in the Rising Star category. 


The University of Alabama at Birmingham has named Thomas Brannan vice president for development and alumni affairs. Also, Associate Professor Guru Sonpavde, in the Division of Hematology and Oncology, won the Oral Presentation award at the European Multidisciplinary Meeting on Urological Cancers in Italy. 

UMS-Wright Preparatory School Board of Trustees has promoted Tony Havard to president and Doug Barber to head of school. 


The Mobile Area Council of Engineers presented annual awards to the following individuals: Ray Miller, of Project Design Group Inc., won Engineer of the Year; Justin McDonald, of U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, won Young Engineer of the Year; Paul Jeffery, of Hargrove Engineers + Constructors, won Civil Engineer of the Year; Chris DeArmon, of Gulf States Engineering Inc., won Mechanical Engineer of the Year; Steve Flukinger, of Thompson Engineering, won Engineering Manager of the Year; Wes Duggar, of Airbus Americas, won Aerospace Engineer of the Year; Henry Griffith, of Gulf States Engineering Inc., won Chemical Engineer of the Year; Taylor Williams, of Hargrove Engineers + Constructors, won Electrical Engineer of the Year; Joshua Lepine, of Austal USA, won Naval Architect of the Year, and Jennifer Denson, of Partners for Environmental Progress, won the Person of Special Recognition award. 


Hotel Indigo Tuscaloosa Downtown named Mark Karbotly its general manager. 


Southeast Alabama Medical Center has named Tammy Smith executive director of Women and Infants Services. 

Add your comment:
Edit Module
Edit Module
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Edit Module